Mark Payne

The life and times of a student journalist

  • Del.icio.us

  • Mark Payne

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • RSS The Northerner

    • Geographic reasons behind move to Horizon League May 11, 2015
      The Board of Regents voted unanimously Monday to add NKU to the Horizon League conference effective July 1. NKU Athletics will make the move for the 2015-16 season to cut down on travel time for student athletes, give fans more chances to see the Norse and cut costs for the future. President Geoffrey Mearns said [...]
      Carrie Crotzer, Editor-in-Chief, Managing Editor, News Editor
    • Reports NKU to move to Horizon League May 9, 2015
      Reports began surfacing Saturday afternoon after NKU announced an unplanned Board of Regents meeting followed by a press conference Monday May 11 that the university will be moving to the Horizon League. A transition to the league would put NKU among competitors such as Cleveland State University, the Univeristy of Illinois at Chicago, the University [...]
      Carrie Crotzer , Editor-in-Chief
    • Onto the next adventure May 8, 2015
      About a month ago, I remember waking up exhausted. As my bare feet hit the chilly floor I started toward the bathroom and mumbled with frustration. Everyone has those days where they just want to stay home, but with the eventuality of my last days at NKU setting in, I have to look back on [...]
      Matt Spaulding , Arts and Life Editor
    • The girl you heard screaming in Griffin Hall was me May 7, 2015
      Moments ago I finished my last undergrad final… ever. Although I more than likely scared Greg DeBlasio with my outburst of excitement and out of rhythm happy dance, between awkwardly bouncing through the lobby of Griffin Hall, the bittersweet realization settled. When I found out that the excessive hours spent showing horses across the country [...]
      Kiana Berry, Social Media Editor
    • The season may end, but the show is far from over May 7, 2015
      I can write a story about another person. I can write a long, passionate piece about why a television show shouldn’t have killed off my favorite character. Actually I can basically write about TV shows better than anything else. But writing a goodbye is not my forte. I’ve been dreading writing this piece for weeks, [...]
      Nancy Curtis , Editor-in-Chief
    • School’s out May 6, 2015
      Wow, it’s hard to believe it’s all over. I always thought that I’d have some impassioned speech when my time at The Northerner came to a close, but I got nothing. I think what I’ll miss most is the people I worked with. When I first started writing, I heard the phrase “The Northerner family” [...]
      Richard Cracchiolo, Copy Editor
    • Documentary project proves to be an extraordinary experience May 5, 2015
      About this time last year, I was approached by one of my professors and asked if I’d be interested in working on a documentary project with a few EMB students and a non-profit in Cincinnati. Not really knowing what I was agreeing to, I said, “Yes,” and while it has been a struggle at times, [...]
      Erin Mullins, Reporter
    • Documentary takes a look at sexual assault May 5, 2015
      Unlike several other universities across the country, NKU is tackling the problem of sexual assault head on. The 2015 documentary “The Hunting Ground,” which takes takes a look at sexual assault on college campuses and the toll it takes on the people involved and the lengths institutions take to cover up these crimes, was screened [...]
      Karen Plunkett, Reporter
    • Effects of college stress May 4, 2015
      Students have taken over Steely Library, Griffin Hall labs and other buildings on campus in an attempt to complete final projects or study for finals that are coming up. However, stress has taken over the students. “It’s quite a bit to do and they don’t space it out,” junior electronic media and broadcasting and media [...]
      Lizzie Kibler, Assistant Arts and Life Editor
    • Record number of students to graduate this spring May 4, 2015
      NKU will graduate one of its largest classes in the institution’s history when 1,780 students receive degrees at three commencement ceremonies May 9. “We continue to go up a little bit. We have a couple hundred more [students graduating] than last May,” Kathy Stewart, director of special events, said. “We’re real happy that the retention [...]
      Tori Lentz, News Editor

Hunter S. Thompson’s boyhood home

Posted by markpaynemedia on July 18, 2009

Hunter S. Thompson's boyhood home

Hunter S. Thompson's boyhood home. Photo by Mark Payne

After some searching I was able to hunt down Hunter S. Thompson’s boyhood home.

It originally started from an interest of a buddy of mine, Shane Ersland. We went biking in Louisville and thought it would be a good idea to find his home. However, we were bounced around in multiple directions and couldn’t find it.

A week later I read a blog by Tom Eblen that was written in May 2008. In his blog, he said the home was for sale and stated the address. He also said it was owned by an editor from Louisville’s daily paper, The Courier-Journal. (In an updated entry on Eblen’s blog he said the home was sold in June of 2008.)


So I went and hunted it down.


I also had a talk with Stephen George, the editor of Louisville’s alternative weekly, Leo weekly, while at Louisville’s music festival, Forecastle.


He said that when people where remodeling the house they were trying to scrape up a black circle in the middle of the house. The workers started to ask around as to what the cirle was and the neighbors told them it was from when Hunter was a boy and he drew the circle, calling it his own portal to hell.


P.S. If you are ever driving through Cherokee park and go through the circle, around Daniel Boone’s statue, look at the large white house with a nice decorated yard. That house belonged to the non-fictional character of Daisy, in The Great Gatsby. Apparently Fitzgerald wrote a lot of the book at a hotel in Louisville, The Seelbach.

3 Responses to “Hunter S. Thompson’s boyhood home”

  1. Ron Mexico said

    Sign the petition to induct Fear and Loathing:On The Campaign Trail ’72 into The Modern Library

    http://www.petitiononline.com/GONZOHST/petition.html

    http://totallygonzo.org

    Cheers!

  2. Mary B said

    Key :) Shane would be so proud.

  3. Megan said

    I’m planning a trip to Louisville and would love to drive by Hunter Thompson’s childhood home. Could you tell me where it is located?

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

